Ravens’ Lamar Jackson wins second NFL MVP, Browns’ Myles Garrett named DPOY

1 of 5 | Baltimore Ravens quarterback Lamar Jackson, who 29 total touchdowns this season, was named the NFL MVP. File Photo by David Tulis/UPI | License Photo

LAS VEGAS, Feb. 8 (UPI) — Baltimore Ravens quarterback Lamar Jackson was named AP NFL MVP for the second time of his career on Thursday, receiving the accolade at the NFL Honors award ceremony in Las Vegas.

“I’m not out there blocking, catching the ball or doing everything,” Jackson said at Resorts World Theatre. “It’s a team thing for these awards.”

Jackson threw for a career-high 3,678 yards, completed a career-best 67.2% of his throws and totaled 24 touchdown passes in 16 starts this season, while helping the Ravens capture the top seed in the AFC.

The three-time Pro Bowl selection and two-time All-Pro, who won his first MVP in 2020, also ran for 821 yards and five scores on 148 carries during his 2023-24 campaign.

Cleveland Browns defensive end Myles Garrett was named Defensive Player of the Year. He totaled 14 sacks, four forced fumbles, three passes defensed and a fumble recovery in 16 starts this season.

“To the city of Cleveland, this one is for you,” Garrett said. “We are going to bring home something bigger next time. Let’s go.”

Houston Texans quarterback C.J. Stroud earned Offensive Rookie of the Year honors. He totaled 4,103 yards, 23 touchdowns and five interceptions in 15 starts this season. He also completed 63.9% of his throws.

“This honor means a lot,” Stroud said. “To whatever kid out there watching, you can do anything you put your mind to. I’m a living testimony to perseverance and just trusting your goals and dreams.”

Stroud’s Texans teammate defensive end Will Anderson Jr. was named Defensive Rookie of the Year. Anderson logged 45 combined tackles, including 10 for a loss, seven sacks and a pass defensed in 15 games this season.

San Francisco 49ers running back Christian McCaffrey was named Offensive Player of the Year. He totaled an NFL-best 1,459 rushing yards, 2,023 yards from scrimmage and 21 touchdowns on 339 total touches in 16 starts this season. The star running back averaged a career-high 5.4 yards per carry.

McCaffrey also was named FedEx Ground Player of the Year. His teammate quarterback Brock Purdy was named FedEx Air Player of the Year.

Purdy completed 69.4% of his throws for 4,280 passing yards, 31 scores and 11 interceptions. He led the league with a 113 passer rating.

Browns quarterback Joe Flacco received the Comeback Player of the Year Award. Flacco, who signed with the Browns in December, completed 60.3% of his throws and totaled 1,616 yards, 13 touchdowns and eight interceptions over the final five games of the season.

He led the Browns to a 4-1 record over that span, helping to clinch a spot in the playoffs.

Browns coach Kevin Stefanski was named Coach of the Year, after leading the team to an 11-6 record and a playoff berth.

Browns defensive coordinator Jim Schwartz was named Assistant Coach of the Year after leading a unit that allowed the fewest yards in the NFL.

Pittsburgh Steelers defensive tackle Cameron Heyward was named the Walter Payton Man of the Year.

The league also announced that Dwight Freeney, Devin Hester, Andre Johnson, Julius Peppers, Patrick Willis, Randy Gradishar and Steve McMichael were elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Executive Director of the National Football League Players Association, Lloyd Howell (L) and NFLPA President JC Tretter (R) stand with Vice President Calais Campbell as he receives the Alan Page Community Award at the NFLPA press conference leading up to Super Bowl LVIII at the Mandalay Bay Convention Center in Las Vegas on February 7, 2024. The San Francisco 49ers will play the Kansas City Chiefs in Super Bowl LVIII at Allegiant Stadium in Las Vegas on February 11, 2024. Photo by John Angelillo/UPI | License Photo

Read More


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here